Cindy Zimmerman wins 2 Staff Awards

Cindy Zimmerman of the BME Undergraduate Advising Office has been awarded the Cockrell School of Engineering Outstanding Facilitator Award for Fall 2007.

Research contribution of Professors Stanislav Emelianov and Konstantin Sokolov featured on cover page of Nanoletters

The June 2009 issue of the American Chemical Society publication Nanoletters featured prominently the latest work of Professors Stanislav Emelianov and Konstantin Sokolov on “Plasmonic Intravascular Photoacoustic Imaging for Detection of Macrophages in Atherosclerotic Plaques.”

Review article of Mary Caldorera-Moore and Nicholas Peppas featured on cover page of Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews

The December 2009 issue of the Elsevier publication Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews features the latest review of graduate student Mary Caldorera-Moore and Professor Nicholas Peppas on “Micro- and nanotechnologies for intelligent and responsive biomaterial-based medical systems.”

Professor Peppas and Chemical Engineering Professor Maynard Receive Gates Foundation Grant on Targeted Oral Vaccines

Professors Jennifer Maynard (of Chemical Engineering) and Nicholas Peppas (of Biomedical Engineering) have received a Gates Foundation grant on “Targeted Oral Vaccines to Induce Cellular & Mucosal Immunity”.

Biomedical engineers receive $11.6 million from National Cancer Institute to offer non-traditional cancer research approaches

The University of Texas at Austin Department of Biomedical Engineering is among a consortium of leading research entities from across the United States selected to receive up to $11.6 million from the National Cancer Institute (NCI) to establish a center to conduct innovative cancer research.

Nicholas Peppas Inducted to the Institute of Medicine

On October 12, Professor Nicholas A. Peppas, Chair of the BME Department, was officially inducted to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies. Peppas was elected last year (Class of 2008) for his pioneering work on biomedical materials, drug delivery, drug transport in cells and bionanotechnology. That same day IOM announced the new class (Class of 2009) of elected IOM members which included a former student and postdoctoral fellow of Dr. Peppas, Professor Kristi Anseth of the University of Colorado.

Two BME Professors Appointed Associate Editors of the Annals of Biomedical Engineering

Professors Laura Suggs and James Tunnell, have been appointed Associate Editors and members of the Advisory Editorial Board of the Annals of Biomedical Engineering.

Scientists use mathematical modeling to correctly predict previously unknown biological mechanism of regulation

AUSTIN, Texas – A team of scientists, led by a biomedical engineer at The University of Texas at Austin, have demonstrated – for the first time – that mathematical models created from data obtained by a recently developed technology called DNA microarrays, can be used to correctly predict previously unknown cellular mechanisms.

Six Biomedical Engineering Professors Receive ARRA Grants

Six professors in the Department of Biomedical Engineering have received grants funded under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA): Orly Alter, Stanislav Emelianov, Krishnendu Roy, George Georgiou, Laura Suggs and Konstantin Sokolov.

Professor Roy Reports an Injectable Polymer-based Immune Priming Center to Improve Vaccine Efficacy

Vaccines against various cancers, emerging infectious diseases and drug-resistance infections need new and transformative strategies to increase protective immunity many folds over currently available vaccine concepts.

Prof. Andrew Dunn Awarded Prestigious Coulter Foundation Award

Professor Andrew Dunn of the Department of Biomedical Engineering has been selected as a 2009 recipient of the Coulter Foundation Early Career Award for Translational Research.

Diller Receives Texas Ignition Fund Grant for Key Heart Research

Biomedical Engineering Professor and Chair Kenneth Diller and senior Daniel Hensley received a $48,000 Texas Ignition Fund grant to conduct important heart research that would help people who have suffered a traumatic brain injury, stroke or cardiac arrest.

Dr. Zaman selected for NAE Frontiers in Engineering Symposium

Dr. Muhammad Zaman is one of a small number of young and promising researchers who have been selected to participate to the 2009 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium of the National Academy of Engineering.

Dr. Zaman recipient of 2009 UT SEC Favorite BME Professor Award

Dr. Muhammad Zaman is the 2009 recipient of the UT Student Engineering Council Favorite Biomedical Engineering Professor award.

Muhammad Zaman Receives Cockrell School Outstanding Teaching Award

Dr. Muhammad Zaman has received the Cockrell School of Engineering Award for Outstanding Teaching by an Assistant Professor for his exceptional and effective classroom instruction methods.