Thanks to a new $1.8 million grant from The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust, Hyun Jung Kim and his research team will develop their Crohn's disease-on-a-chip system to gain greater insight into what can cause and exacerbate the disease, with the goal of developing new treatments. May 4, 2019,

Ning “Jenny” Jiang has devoted her research to better understanding the immune system. Now, she’s taking that research forward, with the help of Mark Zuckerberg. December 7, 2018, Austin American-Statesman.

UT Austin bio-engineer Ning "Jenny" Jiang has been awarded a $2.5 million grant from the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative (CZI) to participate in the philanthropic organization's inaugural Neurodegeneration Challenge Network. December 6, 2018,EurekAlert!

The American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists is pleased to announce the 2018 Distinguished Pharmaceutical Scientist award recipient, Nicholas A. Peppas, Ph.D. the Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering, with appointments in Chemical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Medicine and Pharmacy, at the University of Texas at Austin. October 30, 2018, The American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists.

New human organ-on-a-chip technology has been developed successfully by a research team to investigate the mechanism of disease development. The findings of the study are published in the journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. October 26, 2018, MedIndia

Studies using a novel human “gut-inflammation-on-a-chip” suggest that probiotic bacteria may not always be a benefit to our health. October 26, 2018, GenNews.

The first study investigating the mechanism of how a disease develops using human organ-on-a-chip technology has been successfully completed by engineers at UT Austin. October 25, 2018, EurerkAlert!.

Researchers from the Cockrell School of Engineering were able to shed light on a part of the human body -- the digestive system -- where many questions remain unanswered. Using their "gut inflammation-on-a-chip" microphysiological system, the research team confirmed that intestinal barrier disruption is the onset initiator of gut inflammation. October 25, 2018, Longroom News

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) honored three members today at its annual meeting for their outstanding service. The honorees are Elaine L. Larson, senior associate dean of scholarship and research, Anna C. Maxwell Professor of Nursing Research, and professor of epidemiology at Columbia University; Hedvig Hricak, chair of the department of radiology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; and Nicholas Peppas, professor and director of the Institute for Biomaterials, Drug Delivery, and Regenerative Medicine and Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering #6 at the University of Texas at Austin. October 15, 2018 National Academy of Medicine

Teams of students and professionals from across the country competed for 36 hours, developing technology-based solutions for various medical issues. Biomedical engineering junior Landon Hackley, nutrition senior Adelyn Yau, and chemical engineering sophomore Krishna Anand received the award after pitching their project to a panel of judges from the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association. October 12, 2018, The Daily Texan