Ayoub Receives IE Program Mentorship Award

SalmaAyoub18thumbSalma Ayoub, a biomedical engineering graduate student, is the recipient of the 2018 JoyLynn Hailey Reed Graduate Student Achievement Award. The award recognizes an outstanding graduate student mentor in UT Austin’s Intellectual Entrepreneurship Program.

HIV Cell Dysfunction Discovery Sheds Light on How Virus Works

A new study from Dr. Jenny Jiang's lab moves us one step closer to understanding how the HIV virus works.

Adela Ben-Yakar Elected to AIMBE College of Fellows

Adela Ben Yakar 74The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows represents the most accomplished inthe top 2 percent of medical and biological engineers.

BME Students Receive NSF Graduate Fellowships

NSF thumb1Three students in the Department of Biomedical Engineering are recipients of the 2018 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Fellowships that will allow them to pursue graduate studies in the biomedical field.

Anna Sorace Receives American Cancer Society's Research Scholar Grant

Anna Sorace thumbAnna Sorace, an assistant professor of diagnostic medicine in the Dell Medical School and Department of Biomedical Engineering and member of the Center for Computational Oncology, has been awarded a Research Scholar Grant from the American Cancer Society. 

Jarrett Receives NCI's Laurence P. Clarke Young Investigator Award

Jarett Postdoctoral researcher Angela Jarrett has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the Laurence P. Clarke Young Investigator Award from the National Cancer Institute's Quantitative Imaging Network Program.

Yuan-I Chen Receives Biophysical Society Student Research Achievement Award

ninachenthumbGraduate student Yuan-I (Nina) Chen has been awarded the 2018 Student Research Achievement Award from the Biophysical Society.

Abrams Named an AIMBE Fellow

AbramsThe American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has recently announced the election of Steven Abrams to its College of Fellows.

Unlocking the Potential of Gap Junctions to Advance Drug Delivery

Jeanne Stachowiak and Hugh Smyth have received a new grant from the National Institutes of Health to advance sophisticated siRNA drug delivery.

New Immune Sequencing Technique Could Improve Vaccine Efficacy and Cancer Treatment

Researchers led by Professor Jenny Jiang have developed a technique better understand the immune system, which could improve vaccine efficacy and cancer treatment. 

Yang Receives President's Leadership Award

Emily YangEmily Yang, an undergraduate student in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, is the only sophomore from The University of Texas at Austin to receive a Texas Exes President's Leadership Award.

Woojung Shin Receives Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund

 WoojungthumbWoojung Shin, a graduate student working with Professor Hyun Jung Kim in the Biomimetic Microengineering Lab, has been awarded a Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund.

Cousins and Ranade Awarded for Outstanding FIG Leadership

FIGMargo Cousins, the BME Academic Advising Coordinator, and Arohi Ranade, a BME senior, have both been awarded by the Cockrell School of Engineering for their exceptional leadership of First-Year Interest Groups throughout the Fall 2017 semester

BME Department's Research Shines at LIVESTRONG Cancer Institutes' Research Retreat

LIVESTRONGCancerInstitutesLogoTwo biomedical engineering graduate students and one postdoctoral fellow won awards at the LIVESTRONG Cancer Institutes’ second Basic and Translational Research Retreat poster competition on December 8.

Shelly Sakiyama-Elbert Named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors

Election to NAI Fellow status is the highest professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation.