Three BME Faculty Elected to American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) Fellows

The Department of Biomedical Engineering’s (BME) Professor Stas Emelianov and BME Graduate Studies Committee members Professor Ananth Annapragada and Professor Alan Bovik have been elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering’s (AIMBE) College of Fellows.

Emelianov, Annapragada, and Bovik will be inducted to the College of Fellows at AIMBE’s Annual Event held in Washington, DC in February 2011.

They will join a group of 1,000 individuals recognized as outstanding bioengineers in academia, industry, and government. AIMBE’s College of Fellows is comprised of leaders in the field of medical and biological engineering who have distinguished themselves through contributions in research, industrial practice, and/or education. Fellows are nominated each year by their peers and represent the top 2% of the medical and biological engineering community.

AIMBE was founded in 1991 to establish a clear and comprehensive identity for the field of medical and biological engineering—which serves as the bridge between the principles of engineering science and practice, and the problems and issues of biological and medical science and practice. AIMBE seeks to serve and coordinate a broad constituency of medical and biological scientists and practitioners, scientific and engineering societies, academic departments, and industries.

Within the department, nearly half of all full-time faculty members are fellows of AIMBE. The addition of Drs. Emelianov, Annapragada, and Bovik brings the department's total membership to the College of Fellows to 14, with seven full-time faculty members, six adjunct or Graduate Studies Committee faculty members, and one professor emeritus.

BME Full-time Faculty
Dr. Ken Diller
Dr. Stas Emelianov
Dr. George Georigiou
Dr. Nicholas Peppas
Dr. Krish Roy
Dr. Grady Rylander
Dr. Christine Schmidt

BME Adjunct/Graduate Studies Committee Faculty
Dr. Ananth Annapragada
Dr. Alan Bovik
Dr. Lisa Brannon-Peppas
Dr. Mauro Ferrari
Dr. Massoud Motamedi
Dr. Michael Smolensky

BME Professor Emeriti
Dr. Lee Baker