The following biomedical engineering alumni have kindly agreed to list information about their work with us and to serve as points of contact for current BME students. Please send requests to be listed here, updated contact information, or alumni news to Webmaster.

Students and alumni can also connect through the department's presence on LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter.

  linkedin icon   facebook icon   twitter icon


Gary T. Anderson

Ph.D. (August 1989), instrumentation

Professor
Department of Applied Science
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Little Rock, AR 72204
(501) 569-9021
gtanderson@ualr.edu


Ruhi Arslanoglu

Ph.D. (1998)

Sr. Research Engineer
Orthofix Spinal Implants
ruhiarslanoglu@orthofix.com
(973) 406-2865
(858) 518-1781 cell  
(973) 406-2965 fax


Daniel Barnes, M.D.

M.S.E. (1992) Fluorescence Spectroscopy

Greater Cincinnati Associated Physicians
672 Neeb Road
Cincinnati, OH 45233
(513) 451-1996
Dbarnes25@cinci.rr.com


Dr. Steven F. Barrett, P.E.

Ph.D. (August 1993) laser-tissue interaction and robotic laser eye surgery

Associate Dean for Academic Programs
College of Engineering and Applied Science
University of Wyoming
(307) 766-6181
E-mail: steveb@uwyo.edu
http://www.eng.uwyo.edu/electrical/faculty/barrett.html


Jennifer Kehlet Barton

Ph.D. (August 1998), laser-tissue interaction

Associate Professor
The University of Arizona
ECE Building 104
1230 E. Speedway Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85021-0104
(520) 621-4116 office
(520) 626-8175 lab
barton@u.arizona.edu


Naresh C. Bhavaraju

Ph.D. (May 2000), Instrumentation, heat transfer modeling

Senior Scientist/Program Manager
PhiloMetron, Inc
San Diego, CA 92121
(858) 755-8215
(858) 755-8218 fax
nbhavaraju@ieee.org
http://www.philometron.com


Juan Carlos Briceño

MSc (December 1990), Ph.D. (August 1994)

Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Los Andes
Bogota, DC, Colombia
PO Box 4976
jbriceno@uniandes.edu.co


Larry Carrier

M.S.E. (August 1996), Rheology

Director, Regulatory Affairs
Endovascular Innovations
Medtronic CardioVascular
3576 Unocal Place
BWA2V0305
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
(707) 541-3120
(707) 480-1154 cell
(707) 566-1159 fax
larry.carrier@medtronic.com


Eric K. Chan

Ph.D. (1997), M.B.A., Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2002)

Managing Director
CGC Capital, LLC
1010 Lamar Street, Ste. 1610
Houston, TX 77002
www.cgccap.com
ekchan@cgcap.com


Eric K. Y. Chan, FESC

Ph.D. (August 1991), image processing

CARDIMA Inc.
47266 Benicia Street
Fremont, CA. 94538
(510) 354-0176
(510) 657-4476 fax
ecky@ieee.org


Kin Foong Chan

Ph.D. (August 2000), laser-tissue interaction

Director, Biomedical Engineering Group
Reliant Technologies, Inc.
464 Ellis Street
Mountain View, CA 94043
E-mail: kchan@reliant-tech.com
(650) 605-2267 office
(650) 605-2215 lab
(650 )605-2067 fax


Wai-Fung Cheong

Ph.D. (December 1990), laser-tissue interaction

Research Scientist
Stanford University
Pediatrics Department
WW Hansen Experimental Physics Lab
Stanford University, MC 4085
Stanford, CA 94305
(415) 725-2211
wfcheong@forsythe.stanford.edu


Bernard Choi

Ph.D. (August 2001), biomedical optics

Assistant Professor of Surgery and Biomedical Engineering
Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic
University of California, Irvine
1002 Health Sciences Road East
Irvine, CA 92612-1475
(949) 824-9491
choib@uci.edu


Inci Cilesiz

Ph.D. (December 1994), laser-tissue interaction

Professor of Biomedical and Electronics Engineering
Istanbul Technical University
34469 Maslak, Istanbul
Turkey
+90-212-285-67-73
cilesiz@itu.edu.tr
http://www2.itu.edu.tr/~cilesiz/


Timothy Cleland, M.D.

M.S.E. (1986) Signal Processing
Retina Associates of South Texas, P.A.
7940 Floyd Curl, Suite 120
San Antonio, TX 78229
(210) 615-7600
TimCleland@Hotmail.com


Adson Ferreira da Rocha

Ph.D. (May 1997), instrumentation

Associate Professor
University of Brasilia
Campus Universitario - Asa Norte
Faculdade de Tecnologia
Departamento de Engenharia Electrica
011-55-61-3273-5977 phone
adson@unb.br


Carlos E. Davila

Ph.D. (August 1988), signal processing

Associate Professor
Southern Methodist University
Electrical Engineering Department
Dallas, TX 75275-0338
(214) 768-3197
(214) 768-3573 fax
cd@seas.smu.edu
http://www.seas.smu.edu/~cd


Shannon Dunphy Lazo

M.S.E. (August 2002)

Office of Science
U.S. Department of Energy
(202) 586-6921
shannon.dunphy@science.doe.gov
http://science.doe.gov


Anthony J. Durkin

Ph.D. (May 1995), fluorescence spectroscopy & tissue optics

Assistant Professor
Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic University of California
1002 Health Science Rd
Irvine, CA 92612-1475
(949) 824-3284
ajdurkin@yahoo.com
adurkin@uci.edu


Holger Fuchs

M.S.E. (1998), optical spectroscopy

Carl Zeiss Surgical GmbH
Radiotherapy business unit
Research and development
73446 Oberkochen
Germany
01149-7364-208367
01149-7364-202754 fax
holger@alumni.utexas.net
www.zeiss.de/radiotherapy


Craig Gardner

Ph.D (1995), laser tissue interaction

Principal Scientist
CRi, Inc.
Woburn, MA
craigardner@gmail.com


Roger Gonzalez, PE

Ph.D. (December 1994), biomechanics

Professor, Biomedical and Mechanical Engineering
2001 South Mobberly
School of Engineering
LeTourneau University
Longview TX 75607
gonzaler@letu.edu
http://www.letu.edu/people/rogergonzalez


Kimberly Geisler

M.S.E. (August, 1992), photodynamic therapy

Project Manager, Regulatory Affairs
C.R. Bard
Bard Access Systems, Inc.
605 North 5600 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
(801) 522-5421
kimberly.geisler@crbard.com


John K. Hayes

Ph.D. (1994)

Associate Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
University of Virginia
P.O. Box 800710
Charlottesville, VA 22908-0710
(434) 924-2177
(434 )982-0019 fax
jkh2n@virginia.edu


Jose (Ernie) Hernandez, P.E.

M.S.E. (1977)

Rehab Engineering Inc.
San Antonio, TX
www.rehabengineering.com
jehpe@earthlink.net


Natasha Homji

M.S.E. (2003), Instrumentation and Imaging

Clinical Research Specialist
Biomet
natashahomji@yahoo.com


George Hutchinson

M.S.E. (1985), Ph.D., Marquette University (2000)

Staff Scientist
Kinetic Concepts, INc.
6203 Farinon Drive
San Antonio, TX 78265


E. Duco Jansen

Ph.D. (August 1994), laser-tissue interaction & biomedical optics

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Neurosurgery
Faculty Fellow, Vanderbilt University Institute of Imaging Sciences (VUIIS)
Faculty Fellow, Vanderbilt Institute of Integrative Biosystems Research and Education (VIIBRE)

Department of Biomedical Engineering
VU Station B # 351631, Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN 37235
(615) 343-1911
duco.jansen@vanderbilt.edu


Deok Won Kim

Ph.D. (December 1986), Bioinstrumentation

Professor
Department of Medical Engineering
Yonsei University College of Medicine
Seoul, 120-752 Korea, Republic of
82-2-361-5402
kdw@yumc.yonsei.ac.kr


William A. Kudrle

Ph.D. (1994) Biomedical Engineering

Research Associate Professor
Center for Life Sciences Technology
University of Houston
(713) 743-3445
E-mail: wakudrle@uh.edu


Gerald L. LeCarpentier

Ph.D. (August 1992), laser-tissue interaction

University of Michigan
Basic Radiological Sciences Division
200 Zina Pitcher Place Room 3315
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-0553
(734) 647-9326
(734) 764-8541 fax
gllec@umich.edu


Patrick Lichter

M.S. (1988), instrumentation

Principal Research Scientist
Advanced Medical Electronics Corp.
(763) 463-4814 x 116
plichter@ame-corp.com
www.ame-corp.com


Jian Ling

Ph.D. (December 2001), bioengineering with a focus on imaging

Sr. Research Engineer
Bioengineering Section
Southwest Research Institute
6220 Culebra Rd.
San Antonio, TX 78238
(210) 522-3953
(210 )684-6147 fax
jling@swri.org
www.bioengineering.swri.org


Anita Mahadevan-Jansen

Ph.D. (May 1996), spectroscopy

Assistant Professor
Room 5821, Stevenson Center
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Box 1631, Station B
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN 37235
(615) 343-4787
(615) 343-7919 fax
Anita.Mahadevan-Jansen@vanderbilt.edu


Inder Makin

Ph.D. (August 1994), ultrasonics

Guided Therapy Systems
33 South Sycamore Street
Mesa, AZ 85202
(480) 649-4399
(480) 649-1605 fax
i.makin@guidedtherapy.com


Fatima A. Merchant

Ph.D. (August 1995), multidimensional imaging and image analysis

Lead Research Engineer
Advanced Digital Imaging Research, LLC
2450 South Shrore Blvd., Suite 305
League City, TX 77573
(281) 535-1889 ext: 425
(281) 538-7596 fax
merchant@adires.com


Tom McMurray, M.D.

Ph.D. (August 1994), image processing

Research Scientist
Conceptual Mindworks, Inc.
4318 Woodcock Drive #210
San Antonio, TX 78228
(210) 737-0777
mcmurray@mail.teamcmi.com


Michael M. Nassirian

M.S.E. (1983), Cardiac Contractility

Software Test Manager, Microsoft Corporation
Information Worker Division
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, Washington 98052
(425) 703-7567
mnassiri@microsoft.com


Christopher Neils

Ph.D. (Dec 2000), Cryobiology & crystal growth

Lecturer
Department of Bioengineering
University of Washington
Box 355061
Seattle WA 98195-5061
(206) 685-3021
cmneils@u.washington.edu


Karen L. Nyberg

Ph.D. (August 1998)

Astronaut

Mail Code CB
NASA Johnson Space Center
Houston, TX 77058
(281) 483-9117
(281) 483-9167 fax
karen.l.nyberg@nasa.gov


Francisco Ortiz-Nieto

MSc (1984) Laser in Brain Surgery

Uppsala University Hospital
Medical Informatics and Engineering/Magnetic Resonance Imaging Lab.
Uppsala SE-751 85
Sweden
+46-18-611 7014 work
+46-18-429345 home
+46-70-437 5640 mobile


Stephen Ottmers

Ph.D. (December 1994), cardiovascular dynamics

Research Scientist
Medical Carbon Research Institute, LLC
8200 Cameron Road
Suite A-196
Austin, TX 78754
(512) 339-8000
ottmers@flash.net


Joe W. Peterson

M.S.E. (1978)

Retired (former Senior Fellow at Legerity, Inc.)
8110 Bluff Trail
Austin, Texas 78737
(512) 228-4965
jwpeterson@aol.com


T. Joshua Pfefer

Ph.D. (May 1999), laser-tissue interaction

Laboratory Leader
Optical Diagnostics and Therapeutics
Center for Devices and Radiological
Health Food and Drug Administration
FDA/CDRH/HFZ-130
Rockville, MD  20852
joshua.pfefer@fda.hhs.gov


Garret D Polhamus

M.S.E. (1974), Ph.D. (1976) Laser tissue interaction

Air Force Research Laboratory
8262 Hawks Road
Brooks City-Base, TX 78235
polhamus@ieee.org


Karl Pope

M.S.E. (May 1993), fluorescence spectroscopy

Independent Contracter

Karl Pope
San Mateo, CA 94403
(650) 573-7300
karlpope@alumni.utexas.net


Scott Prahl

Ph.D (December 1988), laser tissue interaction

Sr. Research Scientist
Oregon Medical Laser Center
St. Vincent Hospital
9205 SW Barnes Rd.
Portland OR 97225
(503) 216-2197
prahl@bme.ogi.edu
http://www.bme.ogi.edu/~prahl/


Nimmi Ramanujam

Ph.D. (August 1995), spectroscopy

Associate Professor
Duke University

Room 2575 FCIEMAS office
Room 2510 FICEMAS lab
Durham, NC 27708
(919) 660-5307 office
(919) 668-9180 fax
nimmi.ramanujam@duke.edu
http://nimmi.bme.duke.edu


Preeti Rohatgi

M.S.E. (May 2004), Cellular and Molecular imaging

Software Engineer
DDL Omni Engineering
McLean, VA 22102
preeti.rohatgi@ddlomni.com


Archit Sanghvi

Ph.D. (August 2005), Biomedical Engineering

Postdoctoral Scientist
Zimmer Biologics
3010 Heathmont Drive
Cedar Park, TX 78613
(512) 573-5756
Archit.sanghvi@gmail.com


Paul D. Schreuders

Ph.D. (December 1989), cryopreservation

Engineering and Technology Education
6000 Old Main Hill
Utah State University
Logan, UT 84322-6000
(435) 797-7559
pschreuders@cc.usu.edu


Mark Schulze

M.S.E. (August 1990), Ph.D. (December 1994), image processing

Independent Consutlant
mark@markchulze.net


Aaron J. Seltzer

Ph.D. (December 1992), laser-tissue interaction

Associate Group Leader
Group 91
MIT Lincoln Laboratory
244 Wood Street
Lexington, MA 02420-9108
(781) 981-7910
ajs@ll.mit.edu


Cheryl Jaffe (Sesser)

M.S.E. (August 1992), laser-tissue interaction

Principal Systems Engineer
Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems
Baltimore, MD
(410) 993-8543
cheryl.jaff @ gnc.com


Shriram Sethuraman, Ph.D.

Ph.D. August 2007

Senior Member Research Staff
Philips Research North America
Ultrasound Imaging and Therapy
345 Scarborough Road
Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510
shriram.sethuraman@gmail.com


Colin Smithpeter, Ph.D

Ph.D (December 1997), optical instrumentation

Senior Member Technical Staff
Sandia National Labs
PO Box 5800
Albuquerque, NM 87185-0986
(505) 844-9371
(505) 844-5632 fax
csmithp@sandia.gov


Brian S. Sorg

Ph.D. (2001)

Assistant Professor
J. Crayton Pruitt Family
Department of Biomedical Engineering
University of Florida
130 BME Building, P.O. Box 116131
Gainesville, FL 32611-6131
(352) 273-5876
(352) 392-9791 fax

brian.sorg@bme.ufl.edu


Valerie Stewart

M.S.E. (December 1989), Cardiovascular Dynamics

Principal Software Engineer, Space Shuttle IV&V
ProLogic Inc.
1002 Gemini Street Suite 200
Houston, TX 77058
(281) 480-4101


Sungwook (Eric) Suh

M.S.E. (December 2000), Laser-Tissue Interaction

Applications Scientist
Light Microscopy Operation
Nanotechnology Measurements Division
Agilent Technologies, Inc.
5301 Stevens Creek Blvd
Santa Clara, CA 95051
(201) 471-0102
eric_suh@agilent.com


Gracie Vargas

Ph.D. (August 2001), biomedical optics

Assistant Professor
Department of Neuroscience & Cell Biology
Center for Biomedical Engineering
The University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX 77555
(409) 772-6514
grvargas@utmb.edu


Dwight Waddell

Ph.D. (August 1998), Control of Neuromotor Systems and Biomechanics

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
Director, Cognitive Neurophysiology Laboratory University of Mississippi
Turner Room 230 University, MS 38677-1848
(662) 915-5563 office
(662) 915-5525 fax
waddell@olemiss.edu


John Walsh

Ph.D. (May 1998), cryopreservation

Research Scientist
Organ Recovery Inc.
701 E. Bay Street, Suite 433
MSC 1119, Port City Center
Charleston, SC 29403
(843) 772-6756 ext. 24
jwalsh@organ-recovery.com


Jennifer West

Ph.D. (August 1996), Biotechnology

Cameron Professor of Bioengineering and Director
Rice University
MS 144
Institute for Biosciences and Bioengineering
Houston, TX 77251
(713) 348-5955
jwest@ruf.rice.edu


Wade Williams

M.S. Dec 2003, Biomedical Engineering

Applications Engineer
Keyence Corp of America
Atlanta, GA
WadeW.ATL@Keyence.com


Dr. Cameron H.G. Wright, P.E.

Ph.D. (August 1996) laser-tissue interaction and robotic laser eye surgery

Associate Department Head
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Wyoming
(307) 766-6104
(307) 766-2248 fax
c.h.g.wright@ieee.org
http://wwweng.uwyo.edu/electrical/faculty/wright.html


Akihiro C. Yamashita

Ph.D. (May 1991), artificial organs/drug delivery systems

Professor
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Shonan Institute of Technology
1-1-25 Tsujido-Nishikaigan, Fujisawa
Kanagawa 251-8511, Japan
+81-466-30-0234 phone/fax
yama@la.shonan-it.ac.jp


Youseph Yazdi

Ph.D. (October 1997)

Corporate Director, Science and Technology
Johnson & Johnson
Corporate Office of Science and Technology (COSAT)
410 George Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
(732) 524-1159
(732) 524-2549 fax
yyazdi2@corus.jnj.com
Administrative contact: Lynn Reid (732) 524-1021


Jong-In Youn

M.S.E. (1999), Ph.D. (2002)

Post Doctoral Research Fellow
Beckman Laser Institute
College of Medicine
1002 Health Science Road East
Irvine, CA 92602-1475
University of California at Irvine
http://www.bli.uci.edu