Students Receive 2016 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

The National Science Foundation has selected two students from the Department of Biomedical Engineering for its prestigious Graduate Research Fellowship Program.

Recipients of the 2016 NSF graduate fellowships include:

  • Lara Heersema, a first-year graduate student working with Professor Hugh Smyth in his Pharmaceutics Lab. 
  • Divya Ramamoorthy, a graduating senior conducting research with Professor Laura Suggs in her Laboratory for Cardiovascular Tissue Engineering. 

The NSF graduate fellowship program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics who are pursuing research-based master's degrees and doctorates at accredited institutions in the United States. Since the program's inception in 1952, NSF has provided fellowships to individuals selected early in their graduate careers based on their academic achievements and potential for significant achievements in science and engineering.

Awardees were chosen from nearly 17,000 applicants. They will receive three years of financial support within a five-year fellowship period for graduate study that leads to a research-based master's or doctor's degree in science or engineering. In addition to a $34,000 annual stipend, NSF will provide an annual $12,000 cost-of-education allowance to each recipient's graduate school.