Students Receive 2015 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

The National Science Foundation has selected five students from the Department of Biomedical Engineering for its prestigious Graduate Research Fellowship Program.

Recipients of the 2015 NSF graduate fellowships include:

  • Alicia Allen, a second-year graduate student working with Professor Janet Zoldan.
  • David Miller, a second-year graduate student working with Professor Andrew Dunn in the Functional Optical Imaging Laboratory.
  • Bruno Rego, a first-year graduate student working with Professor Michael Sacks in the Center for Cardiovascular Simulation and Biomechanics Experimental Laboratory.
  • Jonathan Webb, a second-year graduate student working with Professor Marcelo Behar and the Cellular Sensing and Communications Dynamics Research Group.
  • Noor Momin, a graduating senior conducting research with Professor Jeanne Stachowiak and Dr. Darryl Sasaki from Sandia National Laboratories. She will head to MIT as a graduate student in the fall of 2015.

The NSF graduate fellowship program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics who are pursuing research-based master's degrees and doctorates at accredited institutions in the United States. Since the program's inception in 1952, NSF has provided fellowships to individuals selected early in their graduate careers based on their academic achievements and potential for significant achievements in science and engineering.

Recipients will receive three years of financial support within a five-year fellowship period for graduate study that leads to a research-based master's or doctor's degree in science or engineering. In addition to a $34,000 annual stipend, NSF will provide an annual $12,000 cost-of-education allowance to each recipient's graduate school.