Three Undergraduate Students Receive Leadership Awards

March 12, 2020

Three seniors from the Department of Biomedical Engineering received student leadership awards from the Cockrell School of Engineering on Monday, February 24th.

2020 Student Leadership Awards 221000669
L-R: Emily Yang, Leila Ally, Gabriela Desatnik, and Dean Sharon Wood. 

This year’s recipients included, Leila Ally, who serves as president of the student organization Women in Biomedical Engineering; Gabriela Desatnik, president of the Biomedical Outreach and Leadership Team; and Emily Yang, president of Texas Engineering World Health.

In 1970, the Student Engineering Council established the Student Leadership Award in Engineering. Each year, the Cockrell School presents six awards to recognize undergraduate and graduate students who have motivated, guided, mentored and supported Cockrell School student organizations by working effectively with colleagues, honoring contributions and pushing others to excel.