Peppas and Brannon-Peppas Elected to Inaugural CRS Fellow Class

Professor and Department Chair Nicholas A Peppas and Adjunct Professor Lisa Brannon-Peppas were elected as Fellows of the Controlled Release Society (CRS) in its inaugural class.

Roy Receives International Recognition

Dr. Krishnendu Roy has been selected as the recipient of the 2010 Young Investigator Award of the Controlled Release Society, which is the highest recognition given to young researchers in the field of drug delivery.

UT System Honors Two BME Professors for Cardiovascular Innovation

Dr. Thomas Milner, the Marion E. Forsman Centennial Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Dr. Marc D. Feldman Professor of Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and an Adjunct Professor in the Biomedical Engineering Department of the University of Texas at Austin were recently awarded the 2010 Chancellor’s Entrepreneurship and Innovation Award from The University of Texas System (UT System).

Peppas Selected for Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal

Nicholas Peppas will be the recipient of the 2010 Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal Award, one of the most prestigious awards in biomaterials science recognizing “excellence in research and development”.

Peppas Selected as 2010 SURA Distinguished Scientist

Professor Nicholas Peppas, chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Fletcher Stuckey Pratt Chair in Engineering, and professor of biomedical engineering, chemical engineering and pharmacy, was the recipient of the 2010 Distinguished Scientist Award from the Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA).

Students Honor Dunn with Outstanding Faculty Award

The Student Engineering Council (SEC) selected Dr. Andrew Dunn as the Most Outstanding Faculty in Biomedical Engineering for 2009–2010.

Peppas Receives 2010 William Hall Award from SFB

Nicholas Peppas is this year’s recipient of the C. William Hall Award from the Society For Biomaterials.

Peppas Selected to Receive the 2010 Maurice Janot Award

Professor Nicholas Peppas has been selected by an international scientific committee as the winner of the 2010 Maurice Marie Janot Award.

The Promise of a Cure

A promising cure for anthrax based on powerful antibodies developed by biochemical engineers and chemists at The University of Texas at Austin has been announced in the June 1 issue of Nature Biotechnology.

Diller Heads Major Meeting on Bionanotechnology in DC

The Chair of Biomedical Engineering, Professor Kenneth R. Diller, is the organizer and General Chair of the 2005 Annual Meeting of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE).

Brannon-Peppas to speak at National Academy of Sciences Colloquia

In April 2007 at the Arthur M. Sackler Colloquia of the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, DC a program has been organized entitled "Nanomaterials in Biology and Medicine: Promises and Perils".

Hallock Receives Texas Exes' Advising Award

Jeff Hallock, an academic advisor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, is among the 2009 recipients of the Texas Exes’  James W. Vick Texas Excellence Award for Academic Advising.

Premier $55 million BME Building Opens

AUSTIN, Texas—The University of Texas at Austin will dedicate on Thursday, Aug. 28 a new $55 million Biomedical Engineering building, which is being touted as a world-class facility for inter-disciplinary research and collaboration in biomedical engineering, pharmacy and natural sciences.

Tunnell's Cancer Detection Device Receives Accolades from BusinessWeek

A recent issue of the magazine Businessweek features the latest research of Dr. James Tunnell, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Nicholas A. Peppas Appointed As Chair of the Biomedical Engineering Department

Dr. Nicholas A. Peppas, the Fletcher Stuckey Pratt Chair in Engineering, has been appointed as Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering of the University of Texas at Austin, effective September 1, 2009.