Armin Aliefendic Receives 2009 First-Year Interest Group Mentor Award

Mr. Armin Aliefendic, a Biomedical Engineering undergraduate student, is the recipient of the 2009 Cockrell School of Engineering Outstanding First-Year Interest Group Mentor Award.

Natalie Craik Receives Prestigious Larry Temple Scholarship

Ms. Natalie Craik, a Biomedical Engineering and Plan II Honors undergraduate student, has been honored as one of two winners of the 2009-2010 Larry Temple Scholarship.

Ankur Singh Receives BMES Graduate Student Award

Ankur Singh, a biomedical engineering graduate student working with Professor Krishnendu Roy, is a recipient of a graduate student research award of the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) this year.

Kimberly Homan, Ph.D. candidate, gives pancreatic cancer patients a fighting chance

As a logistics officer in the U.S. Marine Corps during the U.S.-led invasion of Iraq, Kimberly Homan specialized in leading convoys and directing supplies and equipment to where they needed to be.

Yuxuan Wang Wins $20,000 Top Prize in University Co-op George H. Mitchell Student Awards

Yuxuan Wang, a biochemistry undergraduate senior working with Biomedical Engineering Professor Christine Schmidt and Chemistry and Biochemistry Professor Andrew Ellington, has won the $20,000 grand prize in the 10th annual University Co-op George H. Mitchell Awards for Academic Excellence for undergraduate students at The University of Texas at Austin.

Emelianov Elected to Administrative Committee of the IEEE UFFC

Dr. Stanislav Emelianov has been elected to the Administrative Committee of the IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control Society.

Schmidt Receives Prestigious NSF Fellowship

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Division of Materials Research recently selected Dr. Christine Schmidt as an American Competiveness and Innovation (ACI) Fellow for 2010.

Professor Markey Awarded UT System Grant to Enhance Mammogram Technology

Biomedical engineering professor Mia K. Markey and electrical engineering Al Bovik have been awarded $50,000 from the UT System to develop a computer program to improve evaluation of x-ray images, specifically mammograms.

Professors Sokolov and Emelianov Awarded NCI Research Grant for Improved Cancer Imaging and Treatment

BME Professor Konstantin (Kostia) Sokolov has received a new NIH R01 grant on “Biodegradable Plasmonic Nanoparticles for Cancer Imaging and Therapy.”

Zhang appointed Assistant Editor of Biomedical Microdevices

Professor John Zhang has been appointed an Assistant Editor of the journal Biomedical Microdevices.

Peppas and Brannon-Peppas Elected to Inaugural CRS Fellow Class

Professor and Department Chair Nicholas A Peppas and Adjunct Professor Lisa Brannon-Peppas were elected as Fellows of the Controlled Release Society (CRS) in its inaugural class.

Roy Receives International Recognition

Dr. Krishnendu Roy has been selected as the recipient of the 2010 Young Investigator Award of the Controlled Release Society, which is the highest recognition given to young researchers in the field of drug delivery.

UT System Honors Two BME Professors for Cardiovascular Innovation

Dr. Thomas Milner, the Marion E. Forsman Centennial Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Dr. Marc D. Feldman Professor of Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and an Adjunct Professor in the Biomedical Engineering Department of the University of Texas at Austin were recently awarded the 2010 Chancellor’s Entrepreneurship and Innovation Award from The University of Texas System (UT System).

Peppas Selected for Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal

Nicholas Peppas will be the recipient of the 2010 Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal Award, one of the most prestigious awards in biomaterials science recognizing “excellence in research and development”.

Peppas Selected as 2010 SURA Distinguished Scientist

Professor Nicholas Peppas, chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Fletcher Stuckey Pratt Chair in Engineering, and professor of biomedical engineering, chemical engineering and pharmacy, was the recipient of the 2010 Distinguished Scientist Award from the Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA).