Six Biomedical Engineering Professors Receive ARRA Grants

Six professors in the Department of Biomedical Engineering have received grants funded under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA): Orly Alter, Stanislav Emelianov, Krishnendu Roy, George Georgiou, Laura Suggs and Konstantin Sokolov.

Professor Roy Reports an Injectable Polymer-based Immune Priming Center to Improve Vaccine Efficacy

Vaccines against various cancers, emerging infectious diseases and drug-resistance infections need new and transformative strategies to increase protective immunity many folds over currently available vaccine concepts.

Prof. Andrew Dunn Awarded Prestigious Coulter Foundation Award

Professor Andrew Dunn of the Department of Biomedical Engineering has been selected as a 2009 recipient of the Coulter Foundation Early Career Award for Translational Research.

Diller Receives Texas Ignition Fund Grant for Key Heart Research

Biomedical Engineering Professor and Chair Kenneth Diller and senior Daniel Hensley received a $48,000 Texas Ignition Fund grant to conduct important heart research that would help people who have suffered a traumatic brain injury, stroke or cardiac arrest.

Dr. Zaman selected for NAE Frontiers in Engineering Symposium

Dr. Muhammad Zaman is one of a small number of young and promising researchers who have been selected to participate to the 2009 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium of the National Academy of Engineering.

Dr. Zaman recipient of 2009 UT SEC Favorite BME Professor Award

Dr. Muhammad Zaman is the 2009 recipient of the UT Student Engineering Council Favorite Biomedical Engineering Professor award.

Muhammad Zaman Receives Cockrell School Outstanding Teaching Award

Dr. Muhammad Zaman has received the Cockrell School of Engineering Award for Outstanding Teaching by an Assistant Professor for his exceptional and effective classroom instruction methods.

Dr. Laura Suggs and Dr. John Zhang receive the NSF Career Award

Dr. Laura Suggs and Dr. John Zhang are among the latest recipients of the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) most prestigious award in support of junior faculty, the Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award.

Pioneering Engineer Elected Into Prestigious Institute of Medicine

AUSTIN, Texas – Nicholas A. Peppas was elected today to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academy of Sciences, becoming the first faculty member from The University of Texas at Austin to receive this honor — the highest recognition a scientist or engineer in the medical sciences can receive in the United States.

Three BME Professors elected Fellows of AIMBE

Three University of Texas Biomedical Engineering faculty members have been elected Fellows of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). The news Fellows are: Professors Krishnendu Roy, Christine Schmidt, and Mauro Ferrari.

Three BME students receive Graduate Fellowships

Three biomedical engineering graduate students have received Continuing Fellowships from the Graduate School: Dian Jiao, Ph.D. working with Dr. Pengyu Ren, was awarded $19,000 plus tuition and fees. Tim Larson, Ph.D. student working with Dr. Konstantin Sokolov, and Bo Wang, Ph.D. student working with Dr. Stanislav Emelianov, both received fellowships of $18,000 plus tuition and fees.

Srivalleesha Mallidi wins Best Talk and Poster in Nanotechnology

Srivalleesha Mallidi, a doctoral student in the Biomedical Engineering department, is the winner of Best Talk for the Portfolio Student Presentations Spring 2009 and Winner of Best Poster for Nano Night Spring 2009 for Molecular specific photoacoustic imaging and Selective Detection of Cancer Using Photoacoustic Imaging and Gold Nanoparticles.

Brandon Nichols Awarded 2009 SPIE Scholarship

Brandon Nichols, a biomedical engineering undergraduate student working with Dr. James Tunnell, has been awarded a 2009 SPIE Scholarship in Optical Science and Engineering!

Adrien Ponticorvo wins Second Place for Paper at GPAW Research Showcase

Adrien Ponticorvo, a biomedical engineering doctoral student, was awarded a prize for second place in Paper Presentation at the University of Texas At Austin’s Graduate Student Assembly Graduate Research Showcase.

Adrien Ponticorvo wins Total Grand Prize for Paper at GAIN Conference

Adrien Ponticorvo, a biomedical engineering doctoral student, has been awarded the Total Grand Prize for best paper and presentation at the Graduate and Industry Networking (GAIN) Conference on February 17, 2009.