Dr. Mia K. Markey 2006 AMIA New Investigator Award Recipient

Bethesda, MD, November 1, 2006 - The American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) announces Mia K. Markey, PhD as the recipient of the 2006 AMIA New Investigator Award.

Twenty-four BME students to receive URF Fellowships for 2006

The University Cooperative Society has provided generous funding for the Undergraduate Research Fellowship (URF) Program.

Professor brings new dimension in cancer research to UT

Research conducted by Prof. Muhammad Zaman, who recently moved to UT BME, may one day revolutionize the way the pharmaceutical industries approach cancer.

Three BME Professors elected leaders of the Society for Biomaterials

Three BME professors were elected officers of the Society for Biomaterials in the recently completed elections: Professor Laura Suggs was elected Chair of the Tissue Engineering Division of the Society, otherwise known as the Special Interest Group (SIG), Lisa Brannon-Peppas was elected Secretary/Treasurer of the Drug Delivery SIG and Krishnendu Roy was elected Vice Chair of the Cell and Organ Therapy SIG.

BME Students and Faculty Abroad

The first group of BME students participating in Maymester with Dr. Ken Diller in Cambridge, England, will attend BME353 with Dr. Diller for the month of June while living with local residents.

Dr. Laura Suggs receives 2006 NI Biomedical Engineering Teaching Excellence Award

Prof. Laura Suggs is the recipient of the 2006 National Instruments Biomedical Engineering Teaching Excellence Award.

Brannon-Peppas and Schmidt appointed to multiple prestigious editorial boards

Drs. Lisa Brannon-Peppas and Christine Schmidt have both been appointed to the editorial board of the "International Journal of Nanomedicine."

Four BME faculty members awarded "Early Career Translational Research" Coulter Awards

Mia Markey, Krish Roy, James Tunnell and John Zhang have all been selected to receive Early Career Translational Research Coulter Awards in Biomedical Engineering.

Dr. Peppas receives highest honors of AIChE

Nicholas A. Peppas is the recipient of the 2006 William H. Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to Chemical Engineering Literature of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

BME Doctoral Students win International Research Awards

Two biomedical engineering doctoral students won prestigious international research awards at the recently concluded Society for Biomaterials Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh.

BME Junior receives George H. Mitchell Award

On April 28th, BME junior Peter (Yicun) Jian received a University Coop/George H. Mitchell Award for his paper in Advances in Bionanotechnology entitled "Temperature-Sensitive Polymer-Gold Nanocomposites as Intelligent Therapeutic Systems."

Five BME students receive Presidential Endowed Scholarships for 2006

David Beavers, Rebecca Rosenberger, Sheena Black, Lena Dixit, and Ajay Mody were notified recently that they were selected as 2006 Presidential Endowed Scholarship recipients!

BME Grad Students receive '06-'07 Fellowships

Congratulations to three BME Graduate Students who received fellowships from the Office of Graduate Studies for the 2006-2007 school year!

Tania Betancourt received a Miller Fellowship for $17,000, Shriram Sethuraman received a University Continuing Fellowship for $16,000, and Min Soon Kim received a Continuing Bruton Fellowship in the amount of $1000. These fellowships go to current UT graduate students who have demonstrated an outstanding record of research at the University.

Best Paper Award for Kristy Wood

On April 5-7, 2006, Hunter Lauten and Kristy Wood, both BME PhD students in their last year of studies, attended the Ninth European Symposium on Controlled Release in Noordwijk aan Zee in the Netherlands.

Jim Pollard wins UT Staff Excellence Award

Jim Pollard has been selected from over two hundred nominees to be one of thirty University of Texas at Austin Staff members to receive a 2006 Staff Excellence Award. This award carries with it a $1500 honorarium to be presented May 2, 2006, at the Annual Staff Recognition Program and President's Reception at the Frank C. Erwin Jr. Special Events Center.