Peppas Elected as Foreign Member of Chinese Academy of Engineering

Membership in the CAE is the highest engineering distinction in China, and the academy is among the most prestigious engineering communities in the world. 

Diamonds Help UT Researchers Study Stroke

Sparkling. Regal. Timeless. Diamonds have been called a girl’s best friend, but could they also help us see deeper into the vasculature of the brain?

Clarivate Analytics Includes Nicholas Peppas on Highly Citied Researchers List

PeppasThumbNicholas Peppas, a professor of biomedical engineering and the director of the Institute for Biomaterials, Drug Delivery and Regenerative Medicine, has been included in Clarivate Analytics’ 2017 Highly Cited Researchers List. 

Understanding the Glycocalyx: How Seaweed and Nanotopography Could Improve Cardiovascular Health

Can seaweed reverse the effects of chronic inflammation in our blood vessels? Will better understanding of vascular cells lead successful vascular grafts?

New Review Paper Examines Biomechanical Influence on Cardiovascular Tissue Engineering

Kayla HendersonthumbKayla Henderson, a graduate student working in the lab of Professor Aaron Baker, recently authored a review paper in Advanced Healthcare Materials.

Cardiovascular Research Center Named in Honor of Distinguished Alumnus Dr. James Willerson

UT Austin has named a top cardiovascular research center in honor of internationally acclaimed cardiologist and distinguished UT Austin alumnus Dr. James Willerson. 

Using Nanodiscs to Deliver Drugs for Ischemia Treatment

baker74Professor Aaron Baker has received a grant from the American Heart Association to create therapies for ischemia using lipid nanodiscs. 

Improving Human Induced Pluripotent Stem Cell Differentiation

A graduate student from Professor Janet Zoldan's lab has discovered a method to overcome one obstacle in using human induced pluripotent stem cells, which hold great potential in regenerative medicine. 

Dunn Elected Fellow of The Optical Society of America

osa74The Optical Society of America is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries in the science of light. Fellows are recognized for serving with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics.

CMBE Journal Names Jeanne Stachowiak a Young Innovator

stachowiak74Young Innovators are recognized for their work in some of the most important and impactful bioengineering studies directed by junior faculty in the field.

Alum Michael Hemati has been named a 2017 Medtech Rising Star

He received his B.S. in biomedical engineering in 2013. He's the Senior R&D engineer at Theranova and heads up medical device startups Leo Labs and TruKinetics.

NIH Funds Brock Lab to Develop Novel Cell Barcoding Platform for Cancer Treatment Dynamics

BrockthumbThe project, which is part of the National Cancer Institute's Innovative Molecular Analysis Technologies program, will build on previous work by Brock's team, examining the role of intratumor heterogeneity in treatment.

Dunn Elected Fellow of BMES

dunn tthumbDunn has demonstrated exceptional achievements and experience in biomedical engineering. He will be recognized during the BMES Annual Meeting held this October 11-14, 2017. 

New Technique Helps Researchers Better Understand How Young Children Develop Immunity to Malaria

A better understanding of antibody repertoire responses to malaria infection could improve vaccine development and design.

New Device Accurately Identifies Cancer in Seconds

A team of scientists and engineers has invented a powerful tool that rapidly and accurately identifies cancerous tissue during surgery, delivering results in about 10 seconds—more than 150 times as fast as existing technology.