Simone Siegel, an undergraduate student conducting research in Professor Michael Sacks' lab, has been selected as one of the BMES Undergraduate Design and Research Award winners for the BMES Annual Meeting

The National Institutes of Health has awarded Jeanne Stachowiak's lab with a five-year R01 grant aimed at gaining a detailed physical understanding of endocytosis.

Rachel Buchanan, a biomedical engineering graduate student working with Professor Michael Sacks in the Center for Cardiovascular Simulation in the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences, took first place in the doctoral student paper competition in the cardiovascular biomechanics category at the 7th World Congress of Biomechanics in Boston.

Nicholas Peppas, chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, and Ali Khademhosseini, adjunct associate professor in biomedical engineering, have made the Thomson Reuters list of Highly Cited Researchers for 2014.

Professor Nicholas Peppas, the Fletcher Stuckey Pratt Chair in Engineering and Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, has won the 2014 Giulio Natta Medal in Chemical Engineering from the Chemistry, Material and Chemical Engineering Department "Giulio Natta" (CMIC) of the Politecnico Di Milano.

Graduate students from the Department of Biomedical Engineering won awards at the poster competition during Biomaterials Day at Texas A&M University on June 9, 2014.

Nicholas Durr, who received his doctorate in biomedical engineering from The University of Texas at Austin in 2010, took second place in the SPIE Startup Challenge earlier this year.

Joe Salamone, Ph.D., an adjunct professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering and a member of the department's External Advisory Committee, has been elected a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).

Three biomedical engineering undergraduate students were honored at the Equal Opportunity in Engineering Program's Excellence Awards Banquet on April 24, 2014 for their participation in the Texas Research Experience (TREX) Program.

Professor Jeanne Stachowiak has received a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF).