Three New Faculty Join Department in 2014–2015

The department welcomes three professors with research interests in systems biology and computational modeling, bioinspired organ mimicry and regenerative medicine, and bionanotechnology.

Stachowiak to Present Lipid Research at Biophysical Society Meeting in Japan

Professor Jeanne Stachowiak will present her research at the 52nd Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society of Japan. The meeting will take place September 25–27 in Sapporo, Japan.

Emelianov Receives Funds to Detect Plaques that Cause Heart Attacks

Researchers are using intravascular ultrasound and photoacoustic imaging to identify blockages most likely to cause heart attacks.

Jacob Sacks Wins Award at Penn Engineering REU

Jacob Sacks Jacob Sacks, a biomedical engineering senior, participated in a 10-week research experience for undergraduates at the University of Pennsylvania through the Summer Undergraduate Fellowship in Sensor Technologies (SUNFEST) program.

Professor and Alum to Participate in NAE Frontiers of Engineering Education Symposium

Sixth FOEE SymposiumProfessor Jenny Jiang and alumna Mary Caldorera-Moore have been selected to attend the National Academy of Engineering’s Frontiers of Engineering Education Symposium.

Georgiou Named Top 20 Translational Researcher

Nature Biotechnology ranked George Georgiou, a professor in the Cockrell School of Engineering, one of the world's top 20 translational researchers in 2013.

New Device Improves Skin Cancer Detection

A new optical device may reduce the number of unnecessary biopsies by offering a fast, comprehensive, noninvasive and lower-cost solution to detect melanoma and other skin cancer lesions.

High School Students Explore the UT Austin Lab Experience

For five science-minded high school students, the past three weeks have been consumed with hands-on learning about oral drug delivery in a research university lab setting.

Siegel is a BMES 2014 Undergraduate Design and Research Winner


Simone Siegel, an undergraduate student conducting research in Professor Michael Sacks' lab, has been selected as one of the BMES Undergraduate Design and Research Award winners for the BMES Annual Meeting

Stachowiak Receives NIH Grant for Endocytosis

stachowiak74The National Institutes of Health has awarded Jeanne Stachowiak's lab with a five-year R01 grant aimed at gaining a detailed physical understanding of endocytosis.

Buchanan's Aortic Valve Paper Wins at World Congress of Biomechanics

Rachel Buchanan, a biomedical engineering graduate student working with Professor Michael Sacks in the Center for Cardiovascular Simulation in the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences, took first place in the doctoral student paper competition in the cardiovascular biomechanics category at the 7th World Congress of Biomechanics in Boston.

Thomson Reuters Recognizes 2 BME Professors as Highly Cited Researchers

thompsonThomson Reuters Recognizes 2 BME Professors as Highly Cited Researchers
Nicholas Peppas, chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, and Ali Khademhosseini, adjunct associate professor in biomedical engineering, have made the Thomson Reuters list of Highly Cited Researchers for 2014.

Peppas Wins the 2014 Giulio Natta Medal in Chemical Engineering

Peppas Apr 2013 thumbPeppas Wins the 2014 Giulio Natta Medal in Chemical Engineering
Professor Nicholas Peppas, the Fletcher Stuckey Pratt Chair in Engineering and Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, has won the 2014 Giulio Natta Medal in Chemical Engineering from the Chemistry, Material and Chemical Engineering Department "Giulio Natta" (CMIC) of the Politecnico Di Milano.

UT Austin Swept the Texas Biomaterials Day Poster Competition

MoyDasthumbUT Austin Swept the Texas Biomaterials Day Poster Competition
Graduate students from the Department of Biomedical Engineering won awards at the poster competition during Biomaterials Day at Texas A&M University on June 9, 2014.

Alum Nick Durr Receives 2nd Place SPIE Startup Award

SPIEthumbAlum Nick Durr Receives 2nd Place SPIE Startup Award
Nicholas Durr, who received his doctorate in biomedical engineering from The University of Texas at Austin in 2010, took second place in the SPIE Startup Challenge earlier this year.