NIH Appoints Sacks to Scientific Review Center

Sacks thumbThe National Institutes of Health has invited Michael Sacks, professor of biomedical engineering to serve as a member of the Bioengineering Technology and Surgical Sciences Study Section. 

Perillo Receives Young Investigator Award for High Resolution Microscope

photo of Evan PerilloEvan Perillo, a third-year doctoral student working with Professors Andrew Dunn and Tim Yeh, received the PicoQuant Young Investigator Award at the SPIE Photonics West BiOS Conference.

Zaman Receives NIH Pathway to Independence Award

r zaman thumbRaiyan Zaman, who received her Ph.D. in biomedical engineering from The University of Texas at Austin in 2011, has been awarded Pathway to Independence funding by the National Institute of Health.

Researchers Use Light to Manipulate Stiffness of Extracellular Matrix

Suggs Light is used as a diagnostic, therapeutic, and drug delivery tool. Researchers in the Department of Biomedical Engineering believe light can also be used to help answer biological questions about the effect of extracellular matrix stiffness on disease progression, according to a paper published by Professor Laura Suggs’ research group in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS).

Texas Engineering Alumna Elected to National Academy of Engineering

BlanchardCheryl R. Blanchard, Cockrell School of Engineering alumna and CEO of Microchips Biotech Inc., has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

Four Professors Elected to the AIMBE College of Fellows

AIMBE THUMBThe American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has elected Professors Andrew Dunn, Pengyu Ren, Laura Suggs, and James Tunnell from the Department of Biomedical Engineering to its College of Fellows.

Texas Biomedical Engineer Wins Prestigious Award to Study Cancer-Fighting Cells

The Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation selected Professor Jenny Jiang for its prestigious 2015 Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award.

Peppas Named Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry

headshot of Nicolas PeppasNicholas Peppas, chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering and a professor in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering and the College of Pharmacy at The University of Texas at Austin, has been named a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC).

Startup Continues to Grow as it Started, Through Senior Design

micromulsionthumbIn 2013 a group of biomedical engineering seniors developed a product for their senior design course and started a company. Today, as alumni, they're working with current BME seniors to improve that same product.

Peppas Inducted into Prestigious National Academy of Inventors

Nicholas Peppas has been honored as a world leader in the fields of biomaterials, bionanotechnology, drug delivery, and pharmaceutical bioengineering.

BME Cancer Researchers Receive CPRIT Funding

sealtexasProfessors George Georgiou and Thomas Milner have received a total of $3.3 million in funding for two different grants from the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT).

George Georgiou Named a 2014 Inventor of the Year

George Georgiou received the 2014 Inventor of the Year award presented by the Office of Technology Commercialization on November 12, 2014. 

Alumnus Oscar Ayala Receives NDSEG Fellowship

headshot of Oscar Ayala smilingAlumnus Oscar Ayala, a third year graduate student at Vanderbilt University, received a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship awarded through the Air Force Office of Scientific Research.

Diller Receives Max Jacob Memorial Award

The award recognizes eminent scholarly achievement and distinguished leadership in the field of heat transfer. It is the highest honor in the field of heat transfer bestowed by ASME and AIChE.

Markey’s Research Wins Best Paper Award in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

PRSGO2014BestpaperThere are more reconstruction options available to survivors of breast cancer today. However making a decision about which method to pursue can be difficult.